Carrying on from the previous post-ish

I may have found a third route. I’m always on reddit looking for advice and answers. The other day, I asked redditors what I should do with my life and laid out some basic information about myself. One guy commented:

The barriers to entry for video production are pretty low these days, and delivery channels are in flux to say the least.

Why not travel, shoot a lot of amateur footage, do editing and postprod when you’re back home, and use it as a portfolio piece?

Not exactly a positive comment but he was being realistic and it is an option. Another user agreed with him and said:

If you can afford to travel, do it. There is nothing more disheartening than young people in this business who have no concept of a world outside their own bubble. I like the advice about traveling and making your own videos. It’s great practice but please don’t be discouraged later when prospective employers don’t give a shit about any of it. After you travel around for a year or so you’ll still have to work those shitty low pay jobs to get your foot in the door. Good luck. Be persistent. And most importantly, have a good time. Struggle builds character.

These two comments were the most informative but I’m not sure if I’m going to fully take their advice yet. I have a lot of research to do and a chat with my friend this weekend so I’ll see how it goes from there. For now, I’ll stick with this apprenticeship but honestly, I don’t see myself completing it.

st.

Leave a Reply

