The decision to quit the apprenticeship

I might have ADHD.

But I hope not.

adhd

I’ve had enough of mental illnesses so I hope I don’t actually have ADHD. Although, it would explain a lot of things. But how do you know if you’re just a pro procrastinator or actually someone with ADHD? Meh, I’ll figure out that later.

Instead of doing the online assignments today, I decided to blog a bit and look into TEFL. What does TEFL mean? Why it stands for Teaching English in a Foreign Language. A lot graduates apply for the course to get a TEFL qualification so that they can go abroad for a year. Most people use it as a year out to travel and earn money.

I thought about doing the same today. However, it seems that without a degree, my choices are quite limited. I actually found a school that was accepting applications from people who don’t have degrees. They’re also offering paid meals and accommodation with a local Spanish family. Oh yeah, I forgot to mention this school is in Barcelona, Spain. Here’s the link in fact if you decide you want to have a go at it. I won’t be applying.

I’m tempted, but I just don’t think I can teach. Plus, I’m not a fan of children. Most annoy me so I wouldn’t want to commit to something like this, only to quit again.

My mom is right in a way, I am a quitter. I like to think that I’m learning from all the things I quit. I’m learning that I don’t like that particular thing, but at some point I’m going to have to just suck it up and do whatever because it’s true.. Everything that I’ve had to commit to long term, I’ve quit. Ugh, I don’t know why I’m like this.

Anyway.

Am I quitting the apprenticeship?

Fo sho. The question is: when? I don’t know yet. I’m still figuring out a plan for afterwards so I’m not left doing nothing. That’s an ongoing process. The way I’m approaching this though, ‘quitting’ might come sooner than later. Because I didn’t do the assignments today, they’re going to chase me up on it. Once they realise I won’t be doing it at all, they’ll pull me out of the apprenticeship, which, in the grand scheme of things, is not a big deal. It may or may not work in my favour, but we’ll see.

So I thought I’d have a new plan today involving TEFL, but it looks like that isn’t the case. My current plan then is the one I outlined in the previous post.

Ah, life.

st.

PS: I just wanted to leave this song here because it really cheers me up. I always nod my head to this.

 

Leave a Reply

