Taking photography one step further

photo_2016-04-28_23-49-18

Up until a couple weeks ago, I’d been using Auto Mode on my DSLR camera. I wanted to learn how to use Manual but I kept putting it off. To be honest, I can’t even remember why I decided to make the effort to learn it but I did. I learnt about exposure, shutter speed, aperture and ISO.  I remember watching a video tutorial explaining these aspects of the camera many years ago when I was still in high school, but I never put it into practise. Since then, I’ve watched similar videos but I still couldn’t get the hang of it. Two weeks ago, I watched yet another tutorial video and decided to actually try it out myself. That same day, I learnt how to use Manual. I’m far from mastering it but knowing how to function it feels great. I feel so much more control over my photos and it opens up many paths for creativity too.

Right now, it’s definitely just a hobby. If it can grow into something more, great, but I don’t mind it being just my hobby because it’s so fun. Hey, if anyone wants to take photos with me, or be my model or anything, just hit me up! I’m looking to practise more with portraits because capturing the current emotions of a person’s face just seems so… special, you know?

The other great thing about developing my photography skills is that I get to combine them with my Photoshop skills. I love Photoshop. It takes photos into another dimension and can make the impossible possible. I have many fun projects planned for the future so check out my blog soon for some cool photos.

On Sunday, I’m staying at my cousin’s house for 5 days while her family goes on holiday. They have a cat that they want me to catsit. That’ll be fun because I love cats. It’ll also give me plenty of time to try and focus on applying for jobs. As much as I hate working a job I don’t like, I really want to earn money so that I can go travelling. I miss travelling so much, and with my newfound camera skills, I want to capture some truly unforgettable memories.

st.

Leave a Reply

